Waiting…and waiting some more.

I have spent many days waiting in the past few months. I waited three weeks for my husband to have brain surgery. I waited a week for results to an MRI. I waited to see what the church would say. I waited to see what our friends would do. I waited for life to begin again. And yet, I found myself waiting again this week.

I spent many hours waiting this week. I waited at Jury Duty, to be told I had to come back and wait again the next day. I waited in Texas/OU traffic on my way to Dallas on Saturday. I waited at Starbucks. I waited at the gas pump.
I waited for the phone to ring.
I waited for the door to open.
I waited for an answer.

And I am still waiting. I am waiting on God to tell me what to do. I am waiting on God to move in another person, to see how he reacts. I read this today:

“The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him. It is good that one should hope and wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” (Lamentations 3:25-26)

It is good that one should hope and wait for God. I wait quietly. I move on in my life and continue to pursue God even when it is painful. The bible tells me that God strengthens those who wait. He humbles those who wait. He is humbling me. He is forcing me to reconcile the fact that I cannot do anything apart from Him. He is helping me to see that He ALONE is trustworthy, He ALONE is good, He ALONE holds all things together. He works all things together for my good. Not for my happiness, or my American dream, or the future I planned on, but for my good. He is for me, and I trust in that, knowing that He is good, he fights for me, and He will not leave me defenseless.
I was reminded today of the Shane Barnard song “Waiting Room”…these lyrics portray, in a way I cannot find in my own words, what my soul is struggling through…
May We all Wait Well, on the forgiveness, grace, mercy, and deliverance of God, on the return of Christ, and on the ultimate reconciliation of all things broken.

I will run when I cannot walk.
I will sing when there is no song.
I will pray when there is no prayer.
I will listen when I cannot hear..

Sitting in the waiting room of silence,
Waiting for that still-soft voice I know.
Offering my words up to the rooftop to your heart,
Trusting that this closet’s where you are..

Lord I know if I change my mind,
You will change my heart in time.
Sovereign Lord, this time’s for you
So I sit in the waiting room of silence..
Because it’s all about you.

I will fight when I cannot fear.
I will trust when things don’t seem clear.
I will tell when I cannot speak.
I will step when I cannot see.

Sitting the waiting room of silence,
Waiting for that still-soft voice I know.
Offering my words up to the rooftop to you heart,
Trusting that this closet’s where you are.

Leave a Reply

