Who am I?

I can describe myself in many ways. I can tell you what I like (running, pretzels, the color yellow), I can tell you what I don’t like (rum, spicy food and sand in my shoes). I can tell you when I was born, how many brothers and sisters I have.  My identity can be found in my classroom, or at my home, or in church, or with friends.  I am a daughter, wife, sister, aunt, teacher, friend. I am also an addict, a sinner, and a punk.

Recently, things in my identity have begun to change a bit, and I find myself in a place where I am not quite sure where I go. I mean, literally, what do you do with me? 

I went back to church today. Back to the church I call home and have called home for almost seven years. It was good. It was hard. It was scary. My good friend, Kelly, came to the 11:15 (i know, cardinal sin at The Village, going to the 11:15) instead of her usual service because God told her to love on me and that I would need someone to sit by. And I did. 

God saw my need and met it. And today’s sermon was providential for me as well. God came for me in a powerful way when Josh was speaking on who I am in Christ Jesus. That I am a daughter of the one true God. Nothing more, Nothing less. He is for me. He values me. I matter to Him. I am a bearer of His image. 

Here’s what God spoke to my heart today. Here’s truth:

1.      In Christ, I am … the salt of the earth (Matt 5:13)

2.      In Christ, I am … the light of the world (Matt 5:14)

3.      In Christ, I am … a child of God (Jn 1:12)

4.      In Christ, I am … part of the true vine, a channel of Christ’s life (Jn 15)

5.      In Christ, I am … a friend of God (Jn 15:15)

6.      In Christ, I am … chosen and appointed to bear fruit (Jn 15:16)

7.      In Christ, I am … resurrected to new life (Rom 6:5)

8.      In Christ, I am … a slave of righteousness (Rom 6:18)

9.      In Christ, I am … enslaved to God (Rom 6:22)

10.  In Christ, I am … a son of God (Rom 8:14)

11.  In Christ, I am … a joint heir with Christ, sharing his inheritance (Rom 8:17)

12.  In Christ, I am … the dwelling place of God (1 Cor 6:19)

13.  In Christ, I am … united to the Lord (1 Cor 6:19)

14.  In Christ, I am … a member of Christ’s body (1 Cor 12:27)

15.  In Christ, I am … what I am, by God’s grace (1 Cor 15:10)

16.  In Christ, I am … a new creation (2 Cor 5:17)

17.  In Christ, I am … reconciled to God (2 Cor 5:18-19)

18.  In Christ, I am … the seed of Abraham (Gal 3:29)

19.  In Christ, I am … a saint (Eph 1:1)

20.  In Christ, I am … an heir of God since I am a son of God (Gal 4:6-7)

21.  In Christ, I am … blessed with every spiritual blessing (Eph 1:3)

22.  In Christ, I am … God’s workmanship, made to do good works (Eph 2:10)

23.  In Christ, I am … a fellow citizen of God’s family (Eph 2:11)

24.  In Christ, I am … a prisoner of Christ (Eph 4:1)

25.  In Christ, I am … righteous and holy (Eph 4:24)

26.  In Christ, I am … a citizen of Heaven (Phil 3:20)

27.  In Christ, I am … hidden with Christ in God (Col 3:3)

28.  In Christ, I am … an expression of the life of Christ (Col 3:4)

29.  In Christ, I am … I am chosen of God, holy and dearly loved (Col 3:12)

30.  In Christ, I am … a child of light and not of darkness (1 Thess 5:5)

31.  In Christ, I am … an heir to eternal life (Tit 3:7)

32.  In Christ, I am … a holy partaker of a heavenly calling (Heb 3:1)

33.  In Christ, I am … one of God’s living stones (1 Pet 2:5)

34.  In Christ, I am … a member of a chosen race, a holy nation (1 Pet 2:9)

35.  In Christ, I am … a priest (1 Pet 2:9-10)

36.  In Christ, I am … an alien and stranger to the world I live in (1 Pet 2:11)

37.  In Christ, I am … an enemy of the Devil (1 Pet 5:8)

38.  In Christ, I am … born of God and the Devil cannot touch me (1 Jn 5:18)

39.  In Christ, I am … participating in the divine nature (2 Pet 1:3)

(The above statements are courtesy of Josh Patterson, and not my own)

 

I, Kacy Neinast, am chosen of God, holy, and dearly loved. Dearly loved, by God, who made the mountains and the seas and the inner workings of all things. The hands that paint the sunset and sunrise, that chose the color of the ocean, that invented laughter and dancing, that God loves me dearly. He is for me. He is for me. He will not forsake me in my weakness. Yes and Amen.

 

One thought on “Who am I?

  1. I totally want to blog about this too! Such great, freeing truth. I am glad that yesterday was good, even if it was hard and scary. Grateful that the Lord loved you through Kelly and that He loved you through Josh’s words. Praying for you today. Love you friend!

Leave a Reply

