Happy Thanksgiving (or National Excuse to Binge Day)

Well, I hate the last Thursday in November. It’s like a nightmare to me. A whole entire day devoted entirely to food and binging. It never fails to bring anxiety, anger, and saddness. This year did not disappoint, however, I survived and didn’t cuss at anyone. Miracles happen, people.

One thing I do not hate is being thankful. If fact, listing things I am grateful for has become a daily thing for me. Living in Honduras taught me to be thankful for things that I am still reflect on all these months after my return. I still thank God when the water is warm and the electricity works. So, I thought I would list out the ways God has blessed me this year, and the things I am grateful for on this chilly Saturday night.

1. God, and His saving grace in my life.

2. My family who puts up with my junk, loves me, supports me, and respects the choices I make.

3. Laura Stewart, who calls and takes me to Zumba and still loves me even when I almost lose her dog while she is in a tree house in Costa Rica without her luggage. And she let’s me cuss unapologetically around her.

4. Kathryn Morgan, who calls me or texts me almost everyday to check on me and make sure I have both eaten something and kept it down. You, my friend, are a picture of Christ’s love for me.

5. The Hofmanns and their small group, who listened to me share, and without judgement, have allowed me to check out their small group and welcomed me in.

6. Geoff Ashley and Paul Matthies, who care for me and check on me and fight for what is right. May the Lord give them many blessings and super hot wives.

7. Joey and Kyle Vanderveer, who let me sleep on their couch and tag along with them to church and let me eat their animal crackers.

8. Max Vanderveer, for dancing to Justin Beiber with me and letting me have as many hugs and kisses as I want.

9. Graham Vanderveer, for letting me hold you (not like you have a choice, you are only 3 months old.)

10. Honduras, for showing me how to slow down, love others, and be grateful fo the blessings I have.

11. I am grateful for a body that works, legs that run, eyes that see, lungs that breathe, and ears that hear.

12. Easter Seals North Texas, for teaching me how to teach and letting me love on my students. And for paying me to act a fool.

13. My car, because it runs and takes me places I need to go.

14. Target. Need  I say more?

15. The Soup on E!, because without fail, I laugh out loud everytime I watch it. Bless you, Joel McHale.

16. The sun. I never think about it except when it’s cloudy, and then I am sad.

17. Kids. I am thankful for kids, because they are fun and silly and all the things adults want to be but somehow think they can’t be.

18. Diet Dr. Pepper. I pledge allegiance to Diet Dr. Pepper.

19. Amy Rankin, for letting me borrow her clothes, for asking before she borrows mine, and for being a super fly little sister. (yep, super fly)

20. Tyler Rankin, for using salty language and making stereotypical statements that we all think but only he says. Without him I would not have realized that all black people love dolphins.

21. Amazon.com for making the return and exchange of my smashed Kindle a pleasant and easy experience.

22. For all the people who have given me gift certificates and money to treat myself in the recent months, when I just needed a little retail therapy, God used your generosity to bless me.

23. Hot water to wash my face and take a shower. God bless hot water. Especially on cold days.

24. The Village Church, Hillside Community Church, and Crosspoint Community Church, for your prayers.

25. The internet, so I can talk to my friends in Honduras and my brother in Taiwan.

26. 1310 the Ticket.

27. NPR and all the things I learn from you.

28. My counselor, Angie, and her Godly wisdom. She lets me cuss, too.

29. Rap Music that is super fun to run too.

30. The cross.

31. Kelly Lynch, Matt Tonne, and countless others who have texted, called, and e-mailed me to check on me.

So, yes, while I hate this holiday, I love thankfulness and reflecting on the blessings God has given me.

 

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving (or National Excuse to Binge Day)

Leave a Reply

