Joy/Fun/Karaoke

In the midst of the heartache of the last year, I have had some very sweet moments of joy that have been a soothing balm to my heart. This past weekend and today were some of those times. On Friday, I went with a group of friends to sing Karaoke. I laughed, and sang, and laughed some more, and enjoyed spending time with friends who have known my struggles intimately this past year, friends who haven’t, and one friend who doesn’t really even speak English. Saturday, I had a good run, then met with some ladies I really am growing to love as we work in the Special Needs ministry at church together. We were meeting to discuss a training we will be participating in and discussing our love of children with special needs. I was encouraged because I really long to teach others how to interact with, teach, and love children on the spectrum. On Saturday night, I picked up a friend at the airport and was able to spend time alone with her on the drive back to her house, and, although it was short, I enjoyed getting to know her even more. Sunday was a day of spending time with my buddy at church, where he sat through the entire lesson in Kid’s Village (!!!!), and then babysitting another kid I love. All in all, a good day.Today, I laughed so hard at something one of my students said that I snorted. Laughter is such a gift from God, and I am so glad that in the midst of some sad times, things are sunnier now than they have been in a long time. 

 

 For the Lord comforts Zion;
    he comforts all her waste places
and makes her wilderness like Eden,
    her desert like the garden of the Lord;
joy and gladness will be found in her,
    thanksgiving and the voice of song.

Isaiah 51:3

Leave a Reply

