Thoughts on love and stuff


Lamentations 3:20-24

20 My soul continually remembers it
    and is bowed down within me.
21 But this I call to mind,
    and therefore I have hope:”

22 The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
    his mercies never come to an end;
23 they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
24 “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
    “therefore I will hope in him”

 

I guess Lamentations isn’t the most romantic of the books of the Bible, or is it? I mean the whole book is lamenting hard times and sin and discovering over and over again that the love of the Lord never ceases. Ever. 

And that is the point of love, right? It never fails. It’s constant. And God is so good to us to remind us of His love in our love for one another. I was thinking about this as I ran this morning, having some thoughts on love and what it means to love and be loved. And I was thinking about how people will probably pity me this Valentine’s Day and say stuff like “is it hard to be around all this love when you are divorced?”. 

No, it’s not.

Because I have love in my life. Lots of it. I have friends who cheer me on and love me and laugh and cry with me. I have two nephews who just like to “hang out” in my room and play with bubbles and have dance parties. I have a sister and brother in law who love me and let me live with them and celebrate with them and be with them. I have a brother who loves me when he laughs at my jokes and talks with me about world events and NPR. I have a little sister and bro in law who let me mock their love of their dog and are interested in what’s going on in my world. I have a Mom and Step-dad who call and text and say they are proud of me, love me, and are excited to see what comes next for me. I have a Dad and Step-mom who tell me they love me and come visit and help me when my tires go flat. I have students who hug me and co-workers who make me laugh. 

I have love. I am loved. And more than even the love I have here on earth, I have the love of my Heavenly Father who is my portion and provider. He is the father to the fatherless, the husband to the widow, the hope for my future and the joy in my heart. So, as I think about love and I am reminded that I want to love well. So my hope is that the love that is all around today will continue to penetrate the hearts of those I come in contact with, and that those who are not captured by the love of God will be held captive in His grace and love.

Because that’s what it’s all about. His Never-Ending Grace. His Steadfast Love. And the freedom to love others because of it.

Leave a Reply

