Thankful

I sat at the table today and we all went around and said what we were thankful for.  And we spoke of new babies, and health, and how our family has miraculously made it through an entire year without major drama. No one died, no one got sick, no one got divorced, no one even got a bad haircut.

It was the first year in a long while where our family experienced more times of joy than pain. I was grateful for that.

And when it was my turn to say what I was thankful for, all I could think of was that I was thankful to see the other side. My brother in law asked me to expound upon that, and all I could think was “God keeps His promises”. He does.

It has been a long, daunting, heartbreaking road these past few years. And the whole time, through the whole journey, I just knew that God was working, He was making all things new, He would restore the years that were stolen. He would redeem, He would bring joy.

I knew it.

And so I sat there today, and I saw the other side.

I saw the goodness and redemption and gifts that have been given to me this year.

And it has been good. Because He is good. And He keeps His promises.

Leave a Reply

