Leaves

Here’s a post I wrote for Red Tent Living

Red Tent Living

I was running last week and I saw this tree, it had the most amazingly orange leaves. I live in Texas, so this is rare. And I started thinking about leaves.

We celebrate the leaves changing, because it’s beautiful, it means winter is coming, it means spring will bring new growth, it means scarves and boots and pumpkin spiced everything under the sun. We celebrate it. But what is actually happening is not as lovely as we think. Those leaves are dying. They have served their purpose in the life of the tree. And as the days shorten and the temperature drops, the tree sheds the leaves it no longer needs and prepares for new life.

1 2

And I was thinking about when the leaves fall and we rake them into piles and jump into them, screaming with delight and abandon. I thought to myself “In my life, when parts of…

View original post 467 more words

Leave a Reply

