Expecting

I wrote this to try to remember to celebrate Jesus this season. With new eyes, I am learning more of what it means to expect and wait. Merry Christmas to you.

Red Tent Living

“Come, thou long expected Jesus” has been one of my favorite Christmas songs for years and years. It has always brought tears to my eyes, especially in those years where waiting, wondering, and the desire for deliverance were part of the holiday season. This year, I found myself hearing it in a different light completely, and it took me by surprise. This year, I find myself relating with Mary in a brand new way.

I found out I am expecting my first child a month or so ago, and much like Mary, I was shocked and surprised. (Unlike Mary, this conception was not immaculate).

I thought of Mary, knowing that the world’s savior was growing inside of her. And
I am finally beginning to understand and relate to the Israelite’s longing and waiting for Jesus. They knew He was coming, as did Mary. Mary lived the Israelites longing in a…

View original post 564 more words

Leave a Reply

