2014…quite a year

Well, it’s New Year’s Day. I’m sitting on our bed, Collin is riding the trainer in the living room, and I am filling out paperwork for our midwife. This year brought lots of change, to say the least.

January: We spent New Years with Collin’s parent in Hideaway, it was my first time to visit their house. I really enjoyed it. I also started riding my bike, learned how to clip in and not fall over, and began riding.

February: This month was hard. My brother came home from Taiwan and was sick. We were all confused and struggling with what to do, which caused lots of sleepless nights and anxiety. We celebrated our first Valentine’s Day together, where we went on a picnic at the lake, and had our traditional V-day dinner at my mom’s house.

March: March was a big month. It started with a trip to Mineral Wells to canoe and hang out for Spring Break. We then came home and took a trip to Arboretum, where Collin proposed to me! My sister, Kyle, also gave birth to Livi Jane, our first niece. The month was capped off with my 30th birthday, complete with a karaoke birthday party!

April: April was spent planning the wedding, celebrating my brother’s birthday, and having Collin’s parents and my parents meet for the first time on Easter. I also bought my wedding dress. Good Times. And I spent most of the month doing state required testing on my students, which is a complete waste and total nonsense, but that’s another blog post all together.

May: May was exhausting. There was our first wedding shower at my school, wedding planning, and the regular busyness that comes with the last month of school. I also moved into the apartment we now share, took my bridal portraits and we took our engagement pictures.

June: What a month! It started out with five of my student’s graduating the 8th grade and having a party for them, then school was out. I spent the next few weeks planning and finalizing details for the wedding. We had two wedding showers, one lingerie shower, one bachelor “float the river” weekend, and a rehearsal dinner. Then, on the 21st, we got married. It was fabulous. We spent the next week in Mississippi, Florida, and Arkansas riding bikes, fishing, and going to the beach.

July: In July, we got home from our honeymoon, tried to get adjusted to married life, rode bikes a lot, and I taught swimming lessons. We also went to Hideaway to celebrate Collin and his mom’s birthdays. Collin turned 32.

August: Back to school time. Unfortunately. We both entered this school year tired from the exhausting summer and were met with some very difficult students. It took us a few weeks to get back into the groove of school, and many tears (mine) were shed in the process. Trying to balance school, marriage, and taking care of the home was pretty exhausting.

September: More school, more ARDS, more stress. Besides school, we went to Copperas Cove with two of Collin’s teammates so they could compete in the State Road Race. The first day wasn’t fabulous for anyone, but Collin came in second in his age group on Sunday. It was my first time in the “feed zone”, and I’m sure it won’t be my last.

October: In October, I took a day off to watch the niece and nephews. We went to Collin’s school to teach a social skills lesson on decorating cookies. It was a fun day, but really made me tired. Three kids. That is a lot. October was busy for me at school. We had lots of Special Olympics trips to the bowling alley to practice, and those are exhausting. Collin also continued racing. We didn’t do anything for Halloween, but we did end the month celebrating his sister and his dad’s birthdays.

November: I spent the first two weeks of November being very aware of how everything smelled. I had no idea I was pregnant until the 13th, and we told our families at the Thanksgiving holiday. I spent a lot of this month asleep, throwing up, or wanting to die. Morning sickness is no joke, people. It’s freaking terrible. We spent Thanksgiving with Collin’s parents, sister, and sister’s beau. It was a good day.

December: Lots more vomiting and naps and trying not to kill people this month. I told my boss and co-workers about the baby, and we began to tell friends. We decorated the house for Christmas, got a tree, wrapped presents, and celebrated at work. My sister’s house also flooded so a day was spent watching the kids so they could get everything situated. We celebrated Christmas morning with my mom and stepdad, then saw my dad and stepmom, and on the 26th we went to Hideaway to see Collin’s parents. We spent New Year’s Eve with his sister and Reynolds, and were asleep by 12 (At least I was). December was a long month, but as it came to a close, my nausea lessened and things seemed to be getting better. We also had our first midwife appointment and heard the baby’s heartbeat. It was a long, exciting, tiring month.

I am excited for the next year, and also a bit hesitant as we will welcome in a new member to the family, and change always stretches you. However, God is faithful and it will all be fine. I know it.

Editb-384photo 1 (6)View More: http://elizaldephotography.pass.us/kacycollinweddingView More: http://elizaldephotography.pass.us/kacycollinweddingView More: http://elizaldephotography.pass.us/kacycollinweddingView More: http://elizaldephotography.pass.us/kacycollinweddingView More: http://elizaldephotography.pass.us/kacycollinweddingView More: http://elizaldephotography.pass.us/kacycollinweddingView More: http://elizaldephotography.pass.us/kacycollinweddingView More: http://elizaldephotography.pass.us/kacycollinweddingView More: http://elizaldephotography.pass.us/kacycollinweddingView More: http://elizaldephotography.pass.us/kacycollinwedding_DSC0715

Leave a Reply

