Life, Planned Parenthood, and Grace.

I usually don’t weigh in on political topics, at least not on any sort of public forum. I have many opinions, but I tend to keep them to myself unless asked. So, this post is not my foray into political rantings, but I felt it was something I wanted to share. Before I start, I will share that I am prolife, I do not believe abortion is right and I think babies are humans the moment of conception.

I was awake this morning, feeding my infant son, who was eating, screaming, eating, farting, eating, screaming, and repeat. And, as I looked as his little hands and ears, my thoughts when to Planned Parenthood and abortion. It wasn’t the usual “abortion is evil and let’s bomb the clinics and evil evil evil” that we have all seen recently. I just got sad. And it wasn’t sadness for the babies, it was sadness for the mothers. I kept thinking of them, taking a test, being alone, being young, scared, not able to handle it, not willing to handle it, and making the decision to abort. And I wanted to give them a hug. Because being a mom is terrifying.

Honestly, being a mother is scary enough with support. When I took the test at the gas station in November, I was scared. I spent the entire afternoon afraid of what the reaction was going to be, and afraid of our ability to raise a child. We weren’t planning on having a baby for a few years, so Wilson was a complete surprise.

I can’t imagine what my feelings would have been had I not been married, not had a committed partner, not had a good job, not had a support system and loving family, and especially not had a relationship with God.

I don’t know what I would have done. And so I have been thinking of these mothers today, and thinking of them watching TV or scrolling Facebook and being shamed over and over again by pictures of babies and baby parts and videos and memes about caring about lions more than children, and how judging someone gives Satan a huge foothold. Imagine the things being whispered to those girls from that liar! He’s saying things like “You did that to a baby. You are evil. You are gross. You are worthless. Everyone hates you. God hates you. God hates murder and you murdered a baby.” I mean, Satan is a seriously piece of crap and he won’t stop at anything to shame someone and take them down.

I just want Satan to lose that foothold. I want God to come in and clean the hearts and minds of women who have chosen abortion and shine His love on them. I want them to know that God loves them, regardless of the past, regardless of the future, He sent His son to die for them and they are clean. I just want those mommas to be able to sleep at night and know they are precious, loved, and cherished. There is no shame for those in Christ Jesus.

And I want the church, and people who love God, to do something. I want the church to be a place apart from judgement of the unmarried or single mom. I want the church to be a place where a pregnant woman can come and say “I don’t want this baby, can you help me?” and there will be actual help for them. A family to walk with them through pregnancy, a family to take the baby they carried, a family to help them heal afterward. I want more people to step up and say “I’ll adopt. I’ll help you pay your medical bills. I’ll do whatever I need to do so you know there are other options”.

I want healing. I want those babies to live. And I want those moms to know there are choices, options, and grace. Can we show them the love they need, the grace they need, and the hope they long for? I think that would go way further in stopping abortion than a meme about a lion on Facebook. Because we may never stop government, but we can show women who feel this is the only option, that there are more options. And if we can show love, hope, and grace, we may not need to stop the government, because the demand can dwindle. Let’s love each other, show grace and mercy and remember that we are not the judge.

Because we are all sinners, we are all gross, evil, and full of yuck.

But God.

Ephesians 2:4-6 “But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us,  even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved.”

Leave a Reply

